Kate Tempest Announces Upcoming U.S. Tour

Kate Tempest

British spoken word artist, rapper, poet, novelist and playwright Kate Tempest announces her return to the U.S. with a headlining tour this fall. Kicking off on September 24th at Los Angeles’ Teragram Ballroom, Tempest will be making stops at San Francisco’s The Fillmore on September 25th, Portland’s Wonder Ballroom on September 27th, Seattle’s Showbox on September 29th and finally Brooklyn’s Elsewhere Hall on October 1st. Tickets will be on-sale this Wednesday, June 12th at 10:00am ET at https://www.katetempest.co.uk/.

Kate Tempest’s highly anticipated third studio album, The Book Of Traps & Lessons, which features her previously released singles “Holy Elixir” and “Firesmoke,” is out this Friday, June 14th via American Recordings/Republic Records. The album, produced by legendary producer Rick Rubin and Tempest’s longtime collaborator Dan Carey, is available for pre-order HERE.

The Book Of Traps & Lessons was crafted with Rubin and Carey over the course of the past five years. It follows Tempest’s previous releases, 2014’s Everybody Down and 2016’s Let Them Eat Chaos, both of which were shortlisted for Mercury Prize in 2014 and 2017, respectively. Last year, Kate Tempest was nominated at The BRIT Awards for Best Female Solo Performer.

A handful of words often tell you everything you need to know. When asked, who is Kate Tempest? She gives a brief, albeit telling answer. “Kate Tempest is the words,” she responds. You haven’t ever seen, heard, or experienced anyone quite like her. Tempest uncovers the missing link between the Golden Ages of literature and hip-hop. The London-born BRIT Award-nominated spoken word artist, rapper, poet, novelist, and playwright rhymes with a century-turning fury. Since her emergence in 2011, she has redefined what it means to be a wordsmith in the Modern Age. To date, she has published three poetry collections, staged three plays, and released two studio albums. Along the way, she entranced audiences on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy FallonNPR’s “Tiny Desk,” and more. Not to mention, she garnered widespread critical acclaim from The New York TimesThe New YorkerForbes, and more, to name a few. In the midst of this whirlwind journey, she performed a passage of her popular 75-minute narrative poem, Brand New Ancients, on Charlie Rose. Legendary producer and American Recordings Founder Rick Rubin caught the show, tracked down her phone number, and made a call. This set a series of events in motion that led to her 2019 debut album for American Recordings, The Book Of Traps & Lessons, set for release on June 14th.

September 24 // Los Angeles, CA // Teragram Ballroom
September 25 // San Francisco, CA // The Fillmore
September 27 // Portland, OR // Wonder Ballroom
September 29 // Seattle, WA // Showbox
October 1 // Brooklyn, NY // Elsewhere Hall


  1. “Thirsty”
  2. “Keep Moving Don’t Move”
  3. “Brown Eyed Man”
  4. “Three Sided Coin”
  5. “I Trap You”
  6. “All Humans Too Late”
  7. “Hold Your Own”
  8. “Lessons”
  9. “Firesmoke”
  10. “Holy Elixir”
  11. “People’s Faces”

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular