Missy Elliott Will Receive the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at the 2019 MTV VMAs

Missy Elliott
Atlantic Records

is receiving a major award for for her contribution to music through her creative visuals.

It was announced today (Aug. 12) that the rapper and producer will receive the at this year’s . This news comes after years of her fans actively campaigning for the artist to receive the award for her acclaimed music videos. Visuals for tracks like “The Rain (Supa Dupa Fly),” “Get Your Freak On,” and “Work It,” are iconic in pop culture. Elliott herself is also the first female hip-hop artist to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. She has sold over 30 million records worldwide and is the only female rapper to have six studio albums certified platinum.

Elliott is also the first female rapper to earn the Vanguard Award.

The Vanguard Award is awarded to artists or music video directors that have released some of the most acclaimed music videos aired on MTV. It was first presented in 1984 at the first VMAs to David Bowie, the Beatles, and Richard Lester. It was renamed in 1991 in honor of Michael Jackson. In recent years, the award has been presented to artists like Beyoncé, Kanye West, Rihanna, and Jennifer Lopez.

“Missy’s impact on the music landscape is indelible,” said Bruce Gillmer, MTV International co-brand head and Viacom music and music talent head. “Her creative vision across production, performance, and songwriting is unmatched.”

“I am Humbly Grateful to be receiving the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award,” Missy tweeted. “I thank my FANS “Supafriends” who fought diligently to see this day come. I am crying happy tears. Thank you God @MTV @vmas am SO HUMBLED.”

The MTV Video Music Awards will air live on MTV on August 26th at 8 pm ET from the Prudential Center in Newark, NJ. The award show will be hosted by comedian and actor Sebastian Maniscalco.

Related posts

The-Dream Introduces New Artist Bria Jhane

Michael Mitchell

Urban Legends Reissues Zhané’s Debut Album, ‘Pronounced Jah-Nay,’ On Its 25th Anniversary


R.LUM.R Releases New Song “Boys Should Never Cry” From Forthcoming Debut Album Due This Fall via Island Records

Michael Mitchell

Chloe Mk Releases Internet-Pop Anthem “To Be Young” Today

Michael Mitchell

Souly Had Releases New Single “Paradise” Via Island Records

Michael Mitchell

Global Entertainer and R&B Superstar Chris Brown Releases the Dance-Heavy “Wobble Up” Visual Featuring Nicki Minaj and G-Eazy

Michael Mitchell

Leave a Reply